Welcome To The 2012 Itinerary

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

Amskeptic
IAC "Help Desk"
IAC "Help Desk"

Welcome To The 2012 Itinerary

Post by Amskeptic » Tue Jan 17, 2012 12:28 am

I am a travelling consultant. I am here to convince you that you are the best person to maintain and repair your classic VW. The reasons for doing your own maintenance and repair are numerous. You, in your nervous tentative attentiveness, are more likely to do excellent work than many of the mechanics you may have utilized. I have been regaled by numerous recent stories that point to the ever greater need for us to be alert and thorough with our work, and to inspect the available parts for our chariots with a trained skeptical eye.

My job runs deeper than the surface of our day. I will be stirring up the sediment of your searching mind before the first cup of coffee is poured. I pepper you with questions to help you begin to see cause and effect. As I offer you the concepts of how your VW does its job, I will also keep forgetting to complete my sentences ... you can. I will fail to immediately answer those questions that you are supposed to figure out until you make an effort to answer your own question. Cause and Effect is a key logic tool.

The day begins at 9:00AM sharp with a quick review of your list. We will modify it at will. Valve adjustment will generally be the first operation performed on your car so what the heck, make sure you have a spare set of valve cover gaskets.

As soon as possible, we will conduct a diagnostic test drive/driving lesson. Keep your ego at home. There are very few drivers out there who are capable of reducing wear and tear to the minimum that is demanded. Driving an old VW nicely is an art, and when you get good at it, you will be a better person too. Yes. . . . . you will.