1977 Westfalia - Charging Light On!

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

'55 Ragtop
Getting Hooked!

1977 Westfalia - Charging Light On!

Post by '55 Ragtop » Mon Jun 25, 2007 6:19 am

On my wife's '77 Westy, the charging light stays on AFTER the key is pulled from the ignition. The system has been checked and is charging fine, (13.2v I believe) The other thing is when the key is turned on(but not running), the charging light DOESN"T come on but the oil light does. We've only had it less than a year so still working through everything. I have been told there is a short causing the light to be on when the key is out.
Always looking for one more...

RSorak 71Westy
IAC Addict!

Post by RSorak 71Westy » Mon Jun 25, 2007 7:26 am

My '71 acted like this when it wanted a voltage regulator.
Take care,
Rick
Stock 1600 w/dual Solex 34's and header. mildly ported heads and EMPI elephant's feet. SVDA W/pertronix. 73 Thing has been sold. BTW I am a pro wrench have been fixing cars for living for over 30 yrs.

OB Bus

Post by OB Bus » Mon Jun 25, 2007 7:50 am

Muir had a page on this -- the VR may be faulty. In Muir's scenario the light is on because the VR is trying to turn the generator/alternator into an electric motor. Not a good thing - and yes it happened to me.

'55 Ragtop
Getting Hooked!

Post by '55 Ragtop » Tue Jun 26, 2007 6:48 am

But when the engine is running, it is charging and working fine, this only happens when the key is off.

RSorak 71Westy
IAC Addict!

Post by RSorak 71Westy » Tue Jun 26, 2007 8:38 am

I think mine still charged (never checked, just got on the samba and asked about the symptoms ands went and got a new VR) and I know the light worked fine when running.
Take care,
Rick
Stock 1600 w/dual Solex 34's and header. mildly ported heads and EMPI elephant's feet. SVDA W/pertronix. 73 Thing has been sold. BTW I am a pro wrench have been fixing cars for living for over 30 yrs.

soulful66
Addicted!

Post by soulful66 » Mon Jul 02, 2007 9:13 pm