Bent rear shift rod

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

dtrumbo
IAC Addict!

Bent rear shift rod

Post by dtrumbo » Tue Jan 13, 2009 8:28 am

So in my seemingly never-ending quest for my wife's bus to shift properly, I've removed the rear shift rod for inspection. Here's what I found.

It would appear that my shift rod is bent. Furthermore, it seems that maybe the previous owner may have shortened it or otherwise welded the end back on not perfectly straight. The total length of the rod is 68 3/4". So everyone knows, this is a 1970 bus with a late-bay six-rib 091 transaxle. I'm no expert, but this certainly doesn't look right. Here's a pic of the rod-to-coupler mis-alignment in a picture I took last summer.

I'm hoping (not certain, just hoping) that this may be the cause of the difficulty shifting the transmission into first gear all the way.

I'm calling Ken at The Bus Company this morning to see if he has a non-bent rear shift rod. Does anyone know for sure if they came in different lengths? My shift lever is in a good position fore and aft (not too close to the e-brake handle) so I guess I should get one that's close in length to the one I have.

Thoughts?
- Dick

1970 Transporter. 2015cc, dual Weber IDF 40's
1978 Riviera Camper. Bone stock GE 2.0L F.I.
1979 Super Beetle convertible.

... as it turns out, it was the coil!

chitwnvw
Resident Troublemaker

Post by chitwnvw » Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:36 am

I do remember that going from the 002 to the 091 trans required shortening the linkage. I believe Colin made this conversion, at any rate, it stands to reason that they must have come in different lengths.

Amskeptic
IAC "Help Desk"
IAC "Help Desk"

Post by Amskeptic » Tue Jan 13, 2009 8:30 pm

chitwnvw wrote:I do remember that going from the 002 to the 091 trans required shortening the linkage. I believe Colin made this conversion, at any rate, it stands to reason that they must have come in different lengths.