billowing white smoke

Post by chachi » Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:28 am

1974 transporter panel, 2.0 dual solex
1991 vanagon NAHT, RJE 2.3

RSorak 71Westy
IAC Addict!

Re: billowing white smoke

Post by RSorak 71Westy » Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:35 am

The only smoke a VW engine can make is fuel or oil. Oil smoke is light blue. Fuel smoke is black. No reason an engine problem would kill the electrical.
Take care,
Rick
Stock 1600 w/dual Solex 34's and header. mildly ported heads and EMPI elephant's feet. SVDA W/pertronix. 73 Thing has been sold. BTW I am a pro wrench have been fixing cars for living for over 30 yrs.

dtrumbo
IAC Addict!

Post by dtrumbo » Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:43 am

Could you tell where the smoke was coming from? I hate to jump to the most dire, but if a wire fried, the burning insulation might create white smoke. That would jive with your loss of electrical.
- Dick

1970 Transporter. 2015cc, dual Weber IDF 40's
1978 Riviera Camper. Bone stock GE 2.0L F.I.
1979 Super Beetle convertible.

... as it turns out, it was the coil!

bajaman72
Addicted!

Post by bajaman72 » Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:44 am

Seems to be a separate issue. Frying wires would have white smoke.
1968 Karmann Ghia - Driver
1969 Transporter - Project
1959 Karmann Ghia - Full Race Car

BumbleBus
Addicted!

Post by BumbleBus » Thu Aug 04, 2011 10:20 am

RSorak 71Westy wrote:Fuel smoke is black.
I don't mean to thread jack, but this caught my eye. Every time I start my bus a large billow of dark grey/black smoke belches out of the exhaust, but that's it... "clean" after that. Could this indicate a too rich status with excess fuel laying about after shut down?
'72 Sierra Yellow Campmobile

I'd rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy.

Gypsie
rusty aircooled mekanich

Post by Gypsie » Thu Aug 04, 2011 10:25 am

Where? how much? Did you smell it? How long did it take to come out after getting underway?