80 vanagon...

Find/Fix/Report Back

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

dustindavisusmc
I'm New!

80 vanagon...

Post by dustindavisusmc » Mon Jun 06, 2011 6:27 pm

I am a new member and would like to have some advice.. I have worked on VW's now for about 3 years.. I am an able body mechanic, but VW's can be a hastle some times.... The short of it is that I have an 80 vanagon that hasnt ran for the last ten years.. I started by replacing the fuel system and it worked.. kinda.. The vehicle ran great for about 3 days and then acted a little funny..

It does not have aN 02 sensor.... 49 state model... when it warms up.. when it warms up... if you give it more that 1/4 throttle or if under a load it acts like it is not getting any fuel... sound is bboooooaaaa then when I let off it will continue to idle.

Here is what I have done
I got two air flow meters .. both used.. one Alpha type and one original... tore both down inspected and. both of the Air temp sensors failed, read about 1500 ohms.. terminal 6 and 27, read below recomened tollerance. I know this will be a retard question when I get done but want to check with VW MEN to make sure I am not crazy and havent failed in all other tests... so to continue, I opened both and when I diconnect the terminals and consequently reconnect when it is warm.. there is a difference in idle and performance. I can play with the potentiaometer and the throttle body ( when the temp gauge is disconnected) and get it to run like a champ, while in the driveway...

Here is the short of it ... no 02 sensor.. closed off EGR (which dosent make a difference) .. and the fact that once it gets warm.. It will not run under load or more than a quarter throttle...

Has plenty of compression, has new ignition to include electronic, petonics... I started this project with all the best.. New tank, injectors, ECU is great, no intake leaks, #2 temp sensor..Head temp sensor works, I have also greased and cleaned EVERY electrical connection..