Colin Visits Eskimo Tom’s Igloo in Lake Wobegon

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

EskimoTom
I'm New!

Colin Visits Eskimo Tom’s Igloo in Lake Wobegon

Post by EskimoTom » Mon Jun 27, 2016 6:45 pm

Aloha & Greetings

A little background, as I’m new here. I’ve been a VW bus driver going back to the early 90’s when I bought my 1st bus a 76 Westy. Identical make, model and color as Colin's current Itinerary ride)

I drove pretty steady for about 6 years until the motor gave out. In the meantime I drove an 86 Westy, disassembled an 89 deluxe and a few splitties. In August of 87 I went through most of the mechanicals and had the body refinished in original Marino Gelb. I sold it about 10 years ago, I sold off most of my Type IV spares, Belle Plaine Chris purchased numerous items. I began disassembling a 67 Deluxe late in 2014 and it’s currently undergoing metal replacement therapy.

Last June I picked up a 71 Sportmobile with typical Minnesota rust issues. It was a runner and I wanted to keep my bus wrenching skills current until the 67 comes home. I cautiously drove it home about an hour and half drive and we survived. I even took it to the VW show at Westside in the Cities last year when I found the brakes needed serious attention. I liked the idea that the 1600 was more in line with the 67.

Belle Plaine Chris invited me to spend some time with him and Colin last summer where I helped with “Heater Cable from Hell.”

This May on the the Sportmobile I replaced all the hard and soft lines, pads, shows, had front rotors turned and new rear brake drums and cylinders. It had a penchant for smoking quite a bit after running, even on short trips.