Itinerant Air-Cooled Greetings From New York

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

Amskeptic
IAC "Help Desk"
IAC "Help Desk"

Itinerant Air-Cooled Greetings From New York

Post by Amskeptic » Sun Jun 05, 2016 6:17 pm

Remember this?

That was the then 419,000 mile Road Warrior just after I finished spray-painting it and refreshing the interior in October of 2001. I was a HVAC tech at the time.

Remember this?

That is the NaranjaWesty with 10,050 additional miles since I bought it on October 26, 2015 at 41,841 miles.
You have noted by now that they were photographed at the exact same spot, the Lake Shore Road bridge over the Lake Ontario State Parkway.

I drove from Woodstock home base to Rochester NY to say hello to the stored cars in the barn. Western New York gave me unexpectedly warm and lovely weather. Here is I-390 northbound through the glacial gouges of the last Ice Age:

Rochester skyline:

First up was the 1962 Lincoln Continental. Is NaranjaWesty giving the Lincoln an assist here?

Naw, the Lincoln is running the voltage inverter so I can dremel down the latches on Naranja's new cheapo retractable seatbelts. See, NO WAY was I going to allow this plasticky crap to sully the interior of the Westy, NO WAY:

All I had to do was narrow the plasticky new crap belt latch by 1/8" and I could use the original solid receivers that stay close to the walls of the aisle.

ANYways, the Lincoln, the Lincoln. That car knows how to make me feel horrible. Started up in four seconds, idled beautifully, shifted firmly, drove quietly, cruise control operated flawlessly, door locks glided up and down, brakes still work perfectly, engine thundered quietly on its worn main bearings, what a WASTE of a good car. Drove it to the gas station without plates or registration or insurance. Bad me:

I think Miami's own Cuban Chrome Gang would love this car:

The car daintily drank a full gallon of gas which represents the six miles total since I last filled it: