The Itinerary Spiel

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

Amskeptic
IAC "Help Desk"
IAC "Help Desk"

The Itinerary Spiel

Post by Amskeptic » Thu Jan 24, 2008 5:39 pm

I am a travelling consultant. I am here to break down your resistance/fear/ignorance of maintaining and repairing your old VW.
The reasons for doing your own maintenance and repair are numerous and important. It is typical of a neophyte to not even hear these reasons due to their inner voice nattering about how spastic they are or stupid too, but in fact, it is a fact that there is no one more qualified to work on your VW than you. You, in your nervous tentative attentiveness, are more likely to do a good job and spot little deviations that could blossom into real trouble later. The BigaSHOTS are usually too busy talking at you about how many YEARS of experience they have working on these babies.

My job runs deeper than the surface of our day. I will be stirring up the sediment of your mind before the first cup of coffee is poured. I pepper you with questions to help you begin to see (everything) as a Questioner. It is your questioning ability that makes you a good listener great lover and decent mechanic. As I offer you the concepts of how your VW does its job, I will also keep forgetting to complete my sentences. You can. I also fail to answer your questions that you are supposed to figure out. I will patiently stare at you like a dolt until you make your first real effort to answer your own question.

The day begins at 9:00AM sharp with a quick review of your list. We will modify it at will. Valve adjustment will be the first operation performed on your car (solid lifters or hydraulic lifters it doesn't matter) so what the heck, make sure you have a spare set of valve cover gaskets.