Boat savy? Deschutes trip?

All About How You Home Away From Home.

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

deschutestrout
IAC Addict!

Boat savy? Deschutes trip?

Post by deschutestrout » Sun Feb 22, 2009 8:53 pm

Just puttin' feelers out. Any of you clowns good on the oars? I can float two with me in my driftboat. But if any others are wantin' in...we need another boat runner or three. Mainly class I and II rapids, with one butt-kickin' class IV and a couple other spots where you better be sober and on your game. No particular date yet...just checkin' for interest and experience. Could be a hoot!

hambone
Post-Industrial Non-Secular Mennonite

Post by hambone » Sun Feb 22, 2009 9:11 pm

I have no experience but I'd love to go!
(I rowed a boat around Olallie once)
http://greencascadia.blogspot.com
http://pdxvolksfolks.blogspot.com
it balances on your head just like a mattress balances on a bottle of wine
your brand new leopard skin pillbox hat

vdubyah73
IAC Addict!

Post by vdubyah73 » Mon Feb 23, 2009 6:07 am

Ya just keep the pointy end down stream right? Which end of the oar is pointy? I've done some ''oaring'' in my past. Never got very good at sculling though.
1/20/2013 end of an error
never owned a gun. have fired a few.

justgimmecoffee
Old School!

Post by justgimmecoffee » Mon Feb 23, 2009 6:54 am

man, if I were ten years younger... even five, I'd go. Sounds like a blast.

Me and my buddy used to raft on the Rogue river all the time. Did it at night once, too. Great idea til we came to the dam.

Never raft at night. Unless you have to.

deschutestrout
IAC Addict!

Post by deschutestrout » Mon Feb 23, 2009 2:36 pm

justgimmecoffee wrote:man, if I were ten years younger... even five, I'd go.
Eh sonny, what 'er ya, ninety or somethin'? Eh? My father-in-law rowed the Deschutes everyday all summer long until he was 70. He is an icon on the Deschutes...longest running guide ever. Not to make you "feel bad" or anything :geek:

zblair
The Zster