1974 dual carbs, central idling unit and cut-off solenoid

Carbs & F.I.

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

Birdibus
IAC Addict!

1974 dual carbs, central idling unit and cut-off solenoid

Post by Birdibus » Sun Apr 13, 2008 10:43 am

I'm new at this, and need everyone's guidance. During a recent visit by Colin he diagnosed my problem to be an inoperational central idling unit and a missing cut-off solenoid. I have OG Solex carbs. There has been some rebuilding and rebushing done to them in recent times, but apparently whatever part was needed for the CIU was never obtained.

I have lots of black soot on the bumper. Colin can explain more. All I know is he fiddled with it for a long time, and my hair and clothes were thouroughly poluted by the time he was done.

What is my next step? Do I need to be searching for some hard to find OG part? Do I need to contact a carb expert? Hopefully, once the CIU is repaired, we can balance the carbs as they were designed to operate.

thanks!
71 bus, 74 westy

Amskeptic
IAC "Help Desk"
IAC "Help Desk"

Re: 1974 dual carbs, central idling unit and cut-off solenoi

Post by Amskeptic » Mon Apr 14, 2008 8:32 pm

Birdibus wrote:I'm new at this, and need everyone's guidance. What is my next step? Do I need to be searching for some hard to find OG part? Do I need to contact a carb expert? Hopefully, once the CIU is repaired, we can balance the carbs as they were designed to operate.
As per our noxious conversation in the haze behind smog o'bus, we need to ascertain what jets you have installed in the carbs, we need to make sure all required parts are present and operating. That is the very next step. And since we have to pull the carbs to see what jets you have, two rebuild kits (one for the left side and the other for the right) are called for as well. A careful cleaning and adjustment and you're on your way.
Colin
BobD - 78 Bus . . . 112,730 miles
Chloe - 70 bus . . . 217,593 miles
Naranja - 77 Westy . . . 142,970 miles