Something is draining my battery

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

Mr Blotto
IAC Addict!

Something is draining my battery

Post by Mr Blotto » Thu Sep 03, 2009 5:10 am

Any tips on how to diagnose what is draining my battery?

If I leave my bus sit for more than 3 or 4 days, it will not crank. Battery is new, terminal connectors are clean & tight.

I am an electrical novice, so please keep it basic :flower: . I have a good multi-meter, but have never used it :blackeye: .

Thanks!
1978 Sage Green Westy - 2.0 FI - SOLD WITH 109887 miles :-(

dtrumbo
IAC Addict!

Re: Something is draining my battery

Post by dtrumbo » Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:08 am

Mr Blotto wrote:I have a good multi-meter, but have never used it :blackeye: .
Now is the time.

Most folks use only two of the three functions that makes your meter 'multi'. Probably 90% of the time it's used to measure voltage, the other 10% it gets used to measure resistance (ohms). It has a third very useful function, measuring current, but you have to do a couple of things in order to utilize this function.

As for the problem. Something is drawing current from your battery even when the key is off. The memory in your stereo draws a little, but not enough to drain the battery. If you're lucky enough to have the clock in the dash, it too will draw a miniscule amount of current, but again, not enough to drain the battery. Something else is amiss so you need to figure out what is drawing current when it shouldn't be.