'66 Bus No Electrical Power

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

splittythe66
I'm New!

'66 Bus No Electrical Power

Post by splittythe66 » Sat Jan 03, 2009 12:10 pm

After a full rebuild and safety inspection, I happily drove splitty about town. One snowy, blustery night (always the case, isn't it?) I drove out as normal and got to my destination. After about an hour, I had to go home. I put the key in the ignition (the little orange light went on), turned the key, got one click out of the starter and all systems went down. I tried the key again, no light, no power, no starter. I tried a push start, but I'm not burly enough to get the speed up on a snow covered dirt path. The next day the bus started with a boost from another vehicle and I got home safe and sound.

Since I'm a mechanical novice, this situation raises some questions for me and I'd appreciate some advice on what to try next.

1) The belt seems to deflect about 3/4"-1" instead of the prescribed 1/2" that I read about. If the belt is loose, would it drain the battery since, conceivably, the generator isn't spinning fast enough to keep the battery charged while driving?

2) I'm 99.9% sure I didn't leave the lights, or wipers on when I got out but, is the bus' ignition a master kill switch for the electronics (lights etc)? Meaning if the key is out, no electricity is flowing?

3) The high-low beam foot switch was acting finicky that night. It went from low to high to OFF (a bit worrisome and exciting in a snow storm). So maybe there's a short in that switch, but should I tighten the belt first, and then see how things go? Should I buy a new battery? I did get a "good" used one w/ the rebuild.

Thanks in advance.

P.S. Happy New Year!

static
IAC Addict!

Post by static » Sat Jan 03, 2009 2:10 pm

The belt is not the problem, but I dunno what is.

Does the battery hold a charge?

vdubyah73
IAC Addict!

Post by vdubyah73 » Sat Jan 03, 2009 2:21 pm