Number 1 Spark Plug Hole - Stripped! 1975 Bus

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

BellePlaine
IAC Addict!

Number 1 Spark Plug Hole - Stripped! 1975 Bus

Post by BellePlaine » Mon Nov 15, 2010 1:16 pm

While preparing the bus for winter storage, I noticed that the #1 spark plug was all sooty, foreshadowing a bad problem.

When I tried to replace the plug, of course it would kinda tighten and then get looser before it got sort of tight again. Even though there was no metal shavings on the threads, nor do I recall ever over-torturing the plug I have to face facts and consider my options to rethread this spark plug port. The good news is that I’ve never done this before and now I get to learn something new. So, what is the very best method to perform this task? I expect to remove the engine and remove the head(s); but then should I Heli-Coil it, or something else? While I’m at it, I will rethread one of the intake manifold bolt holes (on the same head) as it is also kind of weak.
1975 Riviera we call "Spider-Man"

sped372
IAC Addict!

Post by sped372 » Mon Nov 15, 2010 2:20 pm

I don't have any experience with doing the spark plug holes, but in other cases I always liked the kind with the little keys you drive into place to prevent them from backing out later on:

See "Thread Locking" with the four little sticky-uppy things here:
http://www.mcmaster.com/#threaded-inserts/=9qeuuo

We used to put them into aluminum fixtures right off the bat to prevent thread issues later on.
1971 Karmann Ghia - 1600 DP
1984 Westfalia - 1.9 WBX

chitwnvw
Resident Troublemaker

Post by chitwnvw » Mon Nov 15, 2010 6:02 pm

Time cert.

hambone
Post-Industrial Non-Secular Mennonite

Post by hambone » Mon Nov 15, 2010 11:02 pm

Does he have to pull the engine/head? Mebbe.
http://greencascadia.blogspot.com
http://pdxvolksfolks.blogspot.com
it balances on your head just like a mattress balances on a bottle of wine
your brand new leopard skin pillbox hat

BellePlaine
IAC Addict!