No end play even wo/ shims!?!? Prob found!

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

RSorak 71Westy
IAC Addict!

No end play even wo/ shims!?!? Prob found!

Post by RSorak 71Westy » Fri Oct 23, 2009 3:15 pm

I'm building a 1600 and the crank moves fine with no flywheel. Spins freely and moves back and forth about 1/8 inch. But add a flywheel even with no shims and I got no end play....What's up? What could be the cause and more importantly the cure....thanks

In my gasket set I found a metal shim and a paper gasket that fit over the dowels, added these, thinking more space would give me some play, but sill none....

Assembled with shims you'd think it would get hard to turn, but it doesn't, it just doesn't have any end play...

I'm baffled.

The oil seal was not driven into the case enough.....wo any shims I have .035 play now....
Take care,
Rick
Stock 1600 w/dual Solex 34's and header. mildly ported heads and EMPI elephant's feet. SVDA W/pertronix. 73 Thing has been sold. BTW I am a pro wrench have been fixing cars for living for over 30 yrs.

Amskeptic
IAC "Help Desk"
IAC "Help Desk"

Re: No end play even wo/ shims!?!?

Post by Amskeptic » Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:00 pm

RSorak 71Westy wrote:I'm building a 1600 and the crank moves fine with no flywheel. Spins freely and moves back and forth about 1/8 inch. But add a flywheel even with no shims and I got no end play....What's up? What could be the cause and more importantly the cure....thanks

In my gasket set I found a metal shim and a paper gasket that fit over the dowels, added these, thinking more space would give me some play, but sill none....

Assembled with shims you'd think it would get hard to turn, but it doesn't, it just doesn't have any end play...

I'm baffled.