Can ya split case w/o removing flywheel?

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

RSorak 71Westy
IAC Addict!

Can ya split case w/o removing flywheel?

Post by RSorak 71Westy » Tue Sep 08, 2009 1:07 pm

well can ya? As in is it possible?
Take care,
Rick
Stock 1600 w/dual Solex 34's and header. mildly ported heads and EMPI elephant's feet. SVDA W/pertronix. 73 Thing has been sold. BTW I am a pro wrench have been fixing cars for living for over 30 yrs.

Gypsie
rusty aircooled mekanich

Post by Gypsie » Tue Sep 08, 2009 1:12 pm

Awkward..... I think there is a case bolt or two that are behind there.

What's the sitch....
So it all started when I wanted to get better gas mileage....

RSorak 71Westy
IAC Addict!

Post by RSorak 71Westy » Tue Sep 08, 2009 1:20 pm

Oh have no way to hold case, I guess I need to bolt it to something like an engine stand.....to get gland nut loose. Have a flywheel lock and a big socket and a 3/4 breaker bar for the socket and a pipe for the breaker bar.
What else might I need? 300 ft lbs? thats crazy tight. I have no need to really sep the crank and the flywheel as the crank is bent. And If I build a new engine. get a used on probably wont need this flywheel. Just want to see the carnage inside the case.
Take care,
Rick
Stock 1600 w/dual Solex 34's and header. mildly ported heads and EMPI elephant's feet. SVDA W/pertronix. 73 Thing has been sold. BTW I am a pro wrench have been fixing cars for living for over 30 yrs.

Gypsie
rusty aircooled mekanich

Post by Gypsie » Tue Sep 08, 2009 1:27 pm

Tryin' to remember how Hambone and I did his. I think it was something like put it on the ground and have someone put their weight on it while the other wrenched.

Another idea-
You could drill a 2x4 with holes to allow the tranny studs to be bolted to it. Make it long enough to stick out in the direction you need (kind of like a cheater bar for the case. 2cents)

also- Put it on the floor. Lots of energy to loosen 300fp