Steering Wheel Question

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

mattg
Old School!

Steering Wheel Question

Post by mattg » Sat Nov 18, 2006 2:27 pm

When I got home I noticed that my steering wheel around the horn button was cracked next to the horn button and the crack proceeded to run down the cylinder. Is this a cosmetic crack or something that should be paid more attention? Im not sure of what material the steering wheel is made of - some type of cast or mold. I just dont want to turn the wheel and have nothing happen while Im driving. The steering wheel turns fine and freely. If the steering wheel needs to be replaced what is the procedure for taking it off and where do I find a new / used steering wheel. Has this ever happened to anyone else. It sure looks like more off a cosmetic crack that does not affect the connection of the wheel to the cylinder but I am not an expert and would like to hear what you think. Thanks for any input
I'm all out of ideas and I've tried nothing.

77 Westy 2.0 FI

vdubyah73
IAC Addict!

Post by vdubyah73 » Sat Nov 18, 2006 3:17 pm

You talking about the hub? The spokes and rim of the wheel have a steel skeleton not sure of the hub. Common sense says the spoke skeleton would have to anchor to something in the hub. I would guess that the hub is also steel internally but can't say without a doubt.

Bill

Amskeptic
IAC "Help Desk"
IAC "Help Desk"

Post by Amskeptic » Sun Nov 19, 2006 7:34 am

Cracks are cosmetic. Steering wheel hub is a surprisingly soft potmetal to allow it to break in an accident. Rim and spokes are steel.
Colin
(don't use the steering wheel as a launch into the driver's seat)
BobD - 78 Bus . . . 112,730 miles
Chloe - 70 bus . . . 217,593 miles
Naranja - 77 Westy . . . 142,970 miles
Pluck - 1973 Squareback . . . . . . 55,600 miles
Alexus - 91 Lexus LS400 . . . 96,675 miles

mattg
Old School!

Post by mattg » Sun Nov 19, 2006 10:30 am