78 Camper Backfiring Low Power

Find/Fix/Report Back

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

pdlrofdrms
Getting Hooked!

78 Camper Backfiring Low Power

Post by pdlrofdrms » Sun Apr 06, 2014 8:12 am

Hello everyone,
I am a novice VW mechanic. With the help of you tube, Colin, the samba, aircooled chris, and youtube I was able to rebuild my motor.
It took me 6 months.

But she purred and was driving greeeat. So much so that when Colin visited me last we had time to do things like fix my sliding door!

Now since then my bus and I have had a hard time. My front floor was so rusted out I had to install a new one. That black one you get from Bus Depot that in noway really fits.

I own a small business and a guy did body work on the side. Boasted how he could do that floor replacement in 2 days. Not so. Took two weeks, he did a poor job. Ruined my paint job, which I will have to address this summer, left big gaps that I will have to fix I was so overwhelmed I parked the bus for two months. Finally I had the courage to start back up again, I had to have the throttle cable assembly fixed underneath as he had welded it poorly too far back and my car was constantly accelerating.

I wanted to take my bus on a roller derby road trip to boise but I also had new Dakota gauges I wanted installed before my trip. I was so busy I took it to a reputable auto electric place.

However he was also over his head with the older VW. He loosened too many nuts. He called me told me what his issue was I ran down showed him where everything went.

He left my ignition on too long burned the points. He replaced them.
However when I got home I smelled fuel.
I started the car back up and holy shit fuel was dumping everywhere! I guess he loosened a fuel fitting in his wiring job.
UGGG..

So here I am. In Boise Idaho.

I made it.
BUUUT.

Its idling very low.
In fact , when I stopped in bend Oregon. In the am to head to Boise car would barely Idle.
it took me hours of trouble shooting.