Some FI ID Help Please

Beetle, Karmann Ghia, Thing.

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

Bookwus
IAC Addict!

Some FI ID Help Please

Post by Bookwus » Sat Jul 25, 2009 5:17 pm

Hiya All,

Being a carbureted kinda guy I have zero experience with FI Bug engines. I'm wondering if somebody out there in IACland can help me by identifying (and, if possible, explaining what the durn thing does) the numbered parts in the picture below............

Now, I'm thinking that number 5 is part of the EGR system and number 7 (and all those brown wire sleeves) are part of some kinda sensor system. But, you can tell by the fact I'm asking, I really don't know for sure. Help!
I have cancer.

It does not have me.

dtrumbo
IAC Addict!

Post by dtrumbo » Sat Jul 25, 2009 6:48 pm

This is just like Gypsie's quiz at Maupin! Feel free to laugh and correct me when I get 'em wrong.

1.) Air Flow Meter or AFM. This measures the amount of air entering the engine so the ECU (Electronic Control Unit) knows how long to fire the injectors to create the correct mixture.

2.) I'm not sure... I'll have to go out and look at mine and see what it's hooked to. As they say, I'll have to get back to ya on that one!

3.) Aux Air Regulator Elbow. This allows the additional air supplied by the auxiliary air regulator to enter the engine, thus raising RPM's during warm up.

4.) I'm not positive what you're labelling, but if it's the part with the injector-type connector on it, that's the cold start valve, also known as "the fifth injector". This squirts a little extra fuel during cold start up.

5.) You are correct sir, that thar is the EGR valve.

6.) This is the intake air horn. I assume it's to funnel fresh air from the deck lid vents into the air cleaner.

7.) This is the electrical connection for the aux air regulator. It is always routed perilously close to the alternator belt. When the belt severs the wires and shorts them together, it will burn out your double relay. Ask me how I know.