The Precipice Nears ...

Over 18 ONLY! For grown-ups. . .

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

Amskeptic
IAC "Help Desk"
IAC "Help Desk"

The Precipice Nears ...

Post by Amskeptic » Thu Apr 09, 2020 9:52 am

“The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.” - Edmund Burke

I am a citizen first, hobbyist second, as mentioned in the Itinerant Air-Cooled mission statement.

Today, I am a distressed citizen. I am not interested in partisan pissing matches where increasing volume attempts to make up for weak arguments. I am interested in being well-informed.

I am a visiting mechanic/consultant whose credibility is on full display in a customer's driveway, no hiding behind behind a phone call dodge from the shop, "yeah we need to order a part, it'll be in next Tuesday" when I don't know what is wrong with the car. You never did pay me for my "answers". You paid me to journey with you through "I don't know, let's figure it out." Part of the recipe is to listen well to my customers. Return me the favor.

I am a mechanic across disciplines. I want to know how to fix things. We are so broken here in the U.S. as we take a body blow that we could have defended against. This society of ours is in real trouble, like an engine that is running poorly, with the risk of cascading failures coming our way. Don't push it to the next exit! Pull over! Investigate!

We have a pandemic in the midst of this pandemic, it is spreading through the body-politic, erupting in symptomatic hot spots, it is contagious, it is stealing our breath, and it is about to stop our hearts.