Healthcare-what do you have?

Over 18 ONLY! For grown-ups. . .

Moderators: Sluggo, Amskeptic

hippiewannabe
Old School!

Healthcare-what do you have?

Post by hippiewannabe » Thu Jan 10, 2019 9:16 pm

I didn't add this to the "Obamacare" thread because I'm not looking for a political opinion on the overall system (although it's fine if you want to opine), I am interested in what you personally are currently doing. I have been giving a lot of thought to retirement, and since I'm a few years from Medicare and don't have any post-employment employer coverage, it will all be on me until I hit 65. I went to the Obamacare website, and the cheapest plan for my wife and I in Michigan would be $1000 per month, with a $15K deductible. The wife has some issues, so it's likely the out-of-pocket would be the whole $27K per year. Holy crap! Does everyone buy it? Just taking your chances? is there another option I'm missing?
Truth is like poetry.
And most people fucking hate poetry.

asiab3
IAC Addict!

Re: Healthcare-what do you have?

Post by asiab3 » Thu Jan 10, 2019 9:28 pm

Did you enter your financial info as you are now, or as you expect to be once retired? Does your employer list how much they contribute to your current plan each month?

On financials… When I worked at a non-profit last year, I made so little money that I bought insurance from the marketplace for about $22 a month for a "bronze" plan during those months. When I started my own company, a bronze plan cost me $49. I upgraded to a "silver" plan for a deductible based in reality, and now pay $127 a month. So it looks like comparable monthly payments went up at a higher rate than my income. :pale: